2024 Johnny Bench Awards Winners Announced

Honoring top high school and college baseball and softball catchers

Article written by MLB.com

Top male NCAA baseball catcher

  • Cole Messina – University of South Carolina

Top female NCAA softball catcher

  • Jocelyn Erickson – University of Florida

Top high school catchers from Ohio

  • Macy Chamberlin – Evergreen High School (softball)
  • Caden Sheridan – Sheridan High School (baseball)

Top high school catchers from Kentucky

  • Reaghan Oney – Montgomery County High School (softball)
  • Chance Furnish – Rowan County High School (baseball)

Top high school catchers from Indiana

  • Riley Zache – South Bend St. Joseph High School (softball)
  • Hogan Denny – Mooresville High School (baseball)

Top high school catchers from West Virginia

  • Lauren Guthrie – Sherman High School (softball)
  • Luke Samuel – Cabell Midland High School (baseball)

The 2024 Johnny Bench Awards Luncheon will take place on Tuesday, July 30 at Great American Ball Park. For information on table sponsorship opportunities and to purchase tickets, please contact Garrett Combs at 513-765-7916 or [email protected].

Previous collegiate winners include 2019 No. 1 overall draft pick Adley Rutschman, 2021 Team USA Olympian Dejah Mulipola, 2021 Reds first-round draft pick Matheu Nelson and 2022 Rawlings Gold Glove winner Jordyn Rudd.

The full list of previous winners can be found at www.reds.com/BenchAwards.


The Indiana winner is 2023 was Grant Sawa of Center Grove High School.


About the Johnny Bench Awards: The Cincinnati Reds and Hall of Famer Johnny Bench, along with the Reds Hall of Fame, are partnering for The Johnny Bench Awards presented by MSA Sport. The awards honor the best baseball and softball high school catchers from Ohio, Kentucky, Indiana and West Virginia as well as the top baseball and softball NCAA Division I catchers. A committee determines the finalists with support from local media, coaches’ associations and scouting organizations in each state. The winners are then hand-picked by Johnny and brought together to celebrate their achievements and meet “Baseball’s Greatest Catcher” at an awards banquet. The awards are permanently located at the Reds Hall of Fame and Museum presented by Dinsmore at Great American Ball Park.